More than 1,400 members of the International Assn. of Business Communicators were present last night in the New York Hilton as nearly 300 Gold Quill Awards were handed out in eight different categories.

IABC's website published an alphabetical list (PDF) of the winners of Awards of Excellence and Merit.

Speakers were also listed as were the numerous sponsors of the event that concludes tomorrow.


Special award winners included: 2013 Sharon Berzok Student Award winner, Aimee Adams, student at Avila University; 2013 Jake Whittmer Research Award winner, Cynthia Tetaka from Hydro One Corporate Communications; Business Issue Award winner, Jane Mitchell from HarknessKennett for work on employee communications at HSBC.

IABC is seeking an interim executive director who will take over the duties of Christopher Sorek, who resigned in May after nearly a year on the job. The organization wants a "high-touch interim leader who can engage staff and key stakeholders in providing a strong and stable foundation for the Association as it implement a new strategic direction."

The IABC conference, which expects total attendance to be nearly 2,000, was $1,430 for regular members and $1,995 for non-members (the price includes one-year of IABC membership).

Springfield Lewis of has urged various reforms at IABC.

O'Dwyer's publisher Jack O'Dwyer with Esben Hostager, senior parnter, Jop, Ove & Myrthu of Copenhagen
IABC Gold Quill chair Tim Buckley (left), chair of U.K. employee comms. agency AB, Kathryn Yates of Towers Watson, who sponsored the Gold Quills, and Kerby Meyers, chair of the International Executive Board.
Photos: Sharlene Spingler