PR News & Commentary

Last Updated: Tue., Sep. 21, 2021 @ 5:02 pm

Category: PR AwardsReturn to Latest News

Diversity in PR Stressed at Big Apple Awards

Tue, Jun. 12, 2018

By John O'Dwyer

Shelley SpectorLast night’s annual Big Apple Awards, hosted by the New York chapter of the Public Relations Society of America, took aim at fostering diversity in the PR workplace.

Bolton, Spector, González to Receive Big Apple Awards

Tue, Jun. 5, 2018

By Steve Barnes

PRSA logoPRSA-NY will present their 2018 awards for individual achievement by public relations practitioners to Roger Bolton, Shelley J. Spector and Olga González during the 31st Big Apple Awards presentation ceremony on Monday, June 11.

WCD Promotes Diversity with Visionary Awards

Fri, May 11, 2018

By Jane Landers

WCD logoWomenCorporateDirectors Foundation honored corporations and individuals that are increasing diversity in the boardroom at its 2018 Visionary Awards.

PRSA's '15 Under 35' to Salute Young PR Pros

Tue, May 1, 2018

By Jane Landers

15 Under 35The New York Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America is getting ready to salute another group of young communications-industry leaders with its third annual 15 Under 35 Awards.

Matrix Awards Celebrate Female 'Badassery'

Wed, Apr. 25, 2018

By Jane Landers

NBC anchors Sheinelle Jones, Savannah Guthrie & Dylan DreyerNew York Women in Communications recognized women leaders in the communications industry at their annual Matrix Awards April 23, including Academy Award-winning actress Halle Berry and MSNBC's "Morning Joe" co-host Mika Brzezinski.

Awards Honor Washington Women in Journalism

Thu, Apr. 19, 2018

By Steve Barnes

Amanda BennettThe achievements of female journalists in the nation’s capital will be celebrated at the 5th annual Washington Women in Journalism Awards on April 26.

Mika Brzezinski Wins NYWICI’s Matrix Award

Thu, Mar. 8, 2018

By Steve Barnes

Mika BrzezinskiMika Brzezinski, co-host of MSNBC's 'Morning Joe," and Alexandra Trower, executive VP-global communications at Estee Lauder, are among 2018 Matrix Award winners presented by New York Women in Communications. NYT reporters who covered sexual abuse allegations lodged against Harvey Weinstein, Bill O'Reilly, win first Matrix Incite Award.

Larry Foster Awards Honor Ethics in Media

Fri, Feb. 23, 2018

By Jane Landers

The Page CenterThe Arthur W. Page Center presented Larry Foster Awards to Bill George, John Onoda and the late Gwen Ifill in a ceremony held in New York on Feb. 22.

Adrian Awards Rock NYC's Marriott Marquis

Wed, Feb. 21, 2018

By Jane Landers

HSMAI Adrian AwardsOver 800 attended last night's 61st Annual Adrian Awards honoring leaders in travel advertising, digital marketing and public relations. Weber Shandwick took home "Best of Show" in PR.

Web Held Captive by Trolls, Fake News & Bots

Fri, Dec. 1, 2017

By Jane Landers

Lee RainieInstitute for PR's 2017 Distinguished Lecturer Lee Rainie bemoaned the toxic nature of our online ecosystem at the group's annual awards dinner Nov. 29 at the Roosevelt Hotel in NYC.

WWPR Names DeMaria ‘Woman of Year’

Wed, Nov. 22, 2017

By Steve Barnes

WWPRWashington Women in Public Relations has named Amy DeMaria, senior VP of communications at the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, as its 2017 PR Woman of the Year.

Hager Sharp, CDC Take Top Thoth Honors

Fri, Oct. 13, 2017

By Steve Barnes

PRSA-NCC Thoth AwardsHager Sharp and Centers of Disease Control and Prevention took top honors at Thoth Awards gala in DC last night, while Seng and Marsans were inducted into PRSA National Capital Chapter's Hall of Fame.

NYWICI Holds Awards Gala

Wed, Oct. 11, 2017

By Jane Landers

Wici awardsNew York Women in Communications honored five women “for doing amazing things though not quite at the pinnacle” of their careers during the Oct. 10 awards ceremony held at Bloomberg’s headquarters in NYC.

NYWICI Honors Five Leaders

Thu, Oct. 5, 2017

By Steve Barnes

New York Women in CommunicationsNew York Women in Communications honor Amanda Cowie (Bloomberg), Mora Neilson (L'Oreal), Odell (, Pitterson (Nielsen) and Reichenberg (Ogilvy) at Oct. 10 awards ceremony.

Marketing Maven Makes Impact

Mon, Oct. 2, 2017

By Steve Barnes

Lindsey CarnettMarketing Maven earned the IMPACT Award for Social Media Campaign Integrated Strategy at the Internet Marketing Association’s annual awards celebration on Sept. 29.

UK’s CIPR Honors Burson

Wed, Jul. 19, 2017

By Steve Barnes

Harold BursonBritain’s Chartered Institute of Public Relations has awarded Harold Burson, Burson-Marsteller’s founding chairman, its President’s Medal for having “shaped contemporary public relations more than any person alive today."

D S Simon Media Unveils Awards Program for Spokespeople

Tue, Jun. 13, 2017

By Steve Barnes

Doug SimonD S Simon Media has created The SPOKEies as the first awards program to honor the best spokespeople reflecting brands, non-profits and companies. “Finally, the best spokespeople will get the recognition they deserve,” said CEO Doug Simon.