The Plank Center for Leadership in Public Relations at the University of Alabama will honor five PR leaders at its annual Milestones in Mentoring Gala, taking place at the Union League Club of Chicago on Thursday, Nov. 11 at 6 p.m.

Established in 2010, the Milestones in Mentoring Awards recognize leaders in the profession for their dedication to thoughtful mentorship, ethical leadership and the advancement of DEI. The recipients are selected by a committee of their peers, and this year five awards are being presented.

The Jack Koten Corporate Award is named after a co-founder of the Arthur W. Page Society and honors an individual who has demonstrated a commitment to mentoring others. Nineteen88 Strategies founder & CEO David Albritton will receive this year’s award.

Dr. Jinx Coleman Broussard, a professor and scholar at the LSU Manship School of Mass Communication, is the recipient of the Bruce K. Berger Educator Award.

The Emerging Leader Award will go to Ketchum senior manager, business development Myreete Stanforth, and Tom Martin, executive-in-residence at The College of Charleston, will receive the Legacy Award.

The Agency Award, which recognizes outstanding mentors in an agency setting or consulting role, is being given to Zeno Group CEO Barby K. Siegel.

From 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. on Nov. 11, the center will present its 2021 DEI Summit at the Union League Club. The summit provides a forum for practitioners, educators and students to come together to forge a deeper immersion into DEI and enhance their knowledge of developing strategic DEI programs.

There will also be a reception following the awards ceremony to give attendees an opportunity for networking.