Citizen Relations and client NYAD Swim for Relief took Best in Show honors at PRSA/Los Angeles' annual PRism Awards on Nov. 19 at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel.

CR worked with swimming icon Diana Nyad and Procter & Gamble to produce a 48-hour continuous swim in New York City to benefit Hurricane Sandy victims. The cause-related marketing PR project, organized in five weeks, raised more than $100K and garnered global coverage.

L-R: Emcee John O'Hurley; Chris Chamberlin, GM of US client services, Citizen Relations, and PRSA/LA president Erik Deutsch.

Actor, TV host and former PR pro John O'Hurley emceed the sold-out awards event, the chapter's 50th annual incarnation of the city's top PR honors.

PRism Awards
Nearly 350 attended the PRSA/LA event.

The chapter handed out 54 PRism Awards out of 200-plus entries and before 350 attendees.

SpaceX's push to establish Los Angeles as an aerospace center won PR Team of the Year honors, while Children's Hospital Los Angeles took home the President's Award for most awards won at the event – eight.

CicLAVia, the four-year-old event that closes streets in LA to encourage pedestrian and bike traffic, won Outstanding Achievement in Publicity.

PRSA/LA president Erik Deutsch of ExcelPR Group called the awards' golden anniversary a "huge milestone for PRSA-LA and the PR industry in Los Angeles."

Entertainment PR vet Howard Bragman was honored by the chapter as PR Professional of the Year, an award presented by Bragman Nyman Cafarelli co-founder Michael Nyman.

Howard Bragman speaks at the PRism Awards. Inset: Bragman with longtime PR partner Michael Nyman.

Steve Nissen, senior VP of legal and government affairs for NBCUniversal, won Outstanding Achivement in Public Affairs for a range of efforts in corporate responsibility, diversity programming and intellectual property. The chapter gave Disney its Corporate Citizen of the Year award, which was received by VP of corporate communications David Jefferson and presented by "High School Musical" star Corbin Bleu.

Former PRSA/LA president Denis Wolcott was presented the Joseph Roos Community Service Award, while KTLA-TV tech reporter Rich De Muro was named Outstanding News Professional by the chapter.

Full list of winners is at