O'Dwyer's History & Staff

Jack O'Dwyer's Newsletter

Jack O'Dwyer (1933-2018) launched his pioneering Jack O'Dwyer's Newsletter in 1968. Previously, he was a financial reporter at two of the five biggest daily newspapers in the U.S., the New York Journal-American (six years) and the Chicago Tribune (four years). 

Respected and sometimes feared by leaders in the PR business, O'Dwyer took pride in his role as an old-school reporter dedicated to chasing down stories and revealing the good and bad of PR.

The New York Times and Washington Post have lauded Jack O'Dwyer's Newsletter, which was originally printed on distinctive yellow pages, as the "bible of PR."

O'Dwyer was a fierce advocate for transparency in PR. His annual financial rankings, which required the submission of financial proofs, chronicled the growth of the industry. He believed the rankings contributed to the "professionalism" of PR, which helped the business earn the respect that is so richly deserved.

O'Dwyer was an advocate for the "little guy," and railed against the acquisition wave by conglomerates that not only reduced the number of independents in the business, but robbed it of some of its heart and soul.

Today, the company provides the latest news and information about PR firms and professionals, the media, corporations, legal issues, jobs, technology, and much more through its website, online databases, weekly newsletter, magazine and directory.

O'Dwyer editors have decades of experience covering the PR field. They come up with stories and insights that appear nowhere else.

 

John O'Dwyer
John O'Dwyer
Publisher
john@odwyerpr.com

Kevin McCauley
Kevin McCauley
Editor-In-Chief
kevin@odwyerpr.com

Jon Gingerich
Jon Gingerich
Sr. Editor, O'Dwyer's Magazine
& website
jon@odwyerpr.com

Steve Barnes
Steve Barnes
Asst. Editor, O'Dwyer's Magazine
& website
steve@odwyerpr.com

Jane Landers
Jane Landers
Director of Operations & Finance
jane@odwyerpr.com

Fraser Seitel

Fraser P. Seitel
Senior Editor
yusake@aol.com

Melissa Werbell
Director of Research
melissa@odwyerpr.com

Christine O'Dwyer
Christine O'Dwyer
Director of Marketing
christine@odwyerpr.com