The WomenCorporateDirectors Foundation is sponsoring a two-day institute geared toward helping executives reevaluate their goals and strategies in light of today’s accelerated pace of technological change and rising stakeholder complexity. “Focus: How Culture, ESG, and Technology Are Radically Changing Board Agendas.” The institute will take place in Miami on Feb. 10-11, and is expected to bring together 100 directors and C-suite executives from around the world, with a special emphasis on Latin and South America, Canada, and the United States. Those set to appear include Celebrity Cruises CEO Lisa Lutoff-Perlo; David Crane, leader at The B Team and former CEO of NRG Energy, and Martha Finn Brooks, director at Jabil Circuit Inc., Bombardier and Constellium. KPMG will be lead sponsor of the event. For more information, please contact Suzanne Oaks Brownstein or Trang Mar of Temin and Company at 212/588-8788 or news@teminandco.com.


LaVoieHealthScience is hosting an event on Dec. 19 aimed at helping health science executives get the most out of attending January’s J.P. Morgan 38th Annual Healthcare Conference in San Francisco. At the JPM Week 2020 Breakfast Panel, which will run from 8:30 to 10:30 a.m. at the Royal Sonesta Boston, LHS president and CEO Donna LaVoie will moderate a panel of health industry pros to examine the value of attending JPM Week for health science companies. The panelists set to appear include Chris Garabedian, chairman and CEO of Xontogeny and portfolio manager at Venture for Perceptive Advisors; PureTech Health founder and CEO Daphne Zohar; VP, global head of external innovation and partnering at IPSEN Milenko Cicmil; and Jon Civitarese, managing director, investment banking at SVA Leerink LLC. For more information on the event and to register, click here.

Rural Spirit

Osborn Barr Paramore honored the winners of its second annual Rural Spirit Awards in a ceremony at the firm’s St. Louis office on Dec. 5. The award, which recognizes individuals who have made a difference in rural communities across the U.S., comes with a $2,000 donation to a non-profit organization of each winner’s choice. Bryan Kasten, who at age 11 founded a youth organization called Kids that K.A.R.E. (Kindness Always, Respect Everyone) took home the Next Generation Rural Spirit Award. Matt Schaller, president of Michigan-based non-profit Ag Community Relief, was presented with the Rural Advocacy Rural Spirit Award. Martina Leforce, founder of the summer feeding program Berea Kids Eat was recognized with the Community Service Rural Spirit Award.